Wiping your device resets all content and settings on the device to their factory settings. The steps are different depending on whether AbleNet manages your device. 

Before You Begin 

Wipe a Managed Device 

If your device is managed by AbleNet, we’ll wipe it for you!

Request a Device Wipe

  1. Contact ableCARE to request a wipe. 
  2. You’ll receive an email from ableCARE with a form attached. Fill out the form with the necessary information.
  3. After you submit the form, make sure the device stays connected to Wi-Fi for 30 minutes. The command will automatically push through.
  4. Wait for the the wipe to complete, and you will be brought to Apple’s initial “Hello” screen. 
  5. Your device is now clear of data, if you’d like to set up the device again, continue on to “Set Up After Factory Reset.”

Set Up After Factory Reset

  1. After the Apple “Hello” Screen, you’ll begin the set-up.
  2. Continue through the setup prompts, connect the device to Wi-Fi, and “Enroll” the device in our management. 
  3. Please allow a few minutes for the wallpaper and app configuration settings to load onto the device. 

Wipe an Unmanaged Device 

If your device is not managed by AbleNet, you’ll need to remove Screen Time Restrictions and then wipe the device.

Remove Screen Time Restrictions

  1. Open Settings.
  2. Tap Screen Time in the menu on the left.
  3. Tap Content & Privacy Restrictions in the menu on the right.

Wipe the Device

  1. Open Settings  
  2. Tap General, then Transfer or Reset iPad. 
  3. Finally, select Erase All Content and Settings. 
  4. If there is an Apple ID signed in, you will need to turn off “Find My” and then sign out of the Apple ID.
  5. If there is no Apple ID, simply press Erase iPad. 

Still Stuck?

Our support teams are available Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. CST.

  • ableCARE Product Support

    For technical issues related to QuickTalker Freestyle or assistive technology products.